The software feature is disabled in the default state, admin could enable it from the general settings. Once enabled, two software tabs will display .
Click on sync button to sync the M365 license .
Assign and return software.
In the action column, you would find assign, and return icons, here you can assign or return the software, If you want to edit the software, click on the pencil icon and delete from the delete icon.